picture 1 of 3
Garrett, Randall
(reprint) omnibus: 1983
cvr art:
cvr price:

Walter Velez

Book= near-Fine
Dustjacket= VG to VG+

Book is tight and square - possibly unread. No stamps, marks or writing. DJ front has light rubbing wear (mostly at edges), blank DJ back has heavier rubbing wear (see scans.)

Omnibus of MURDER AND MAGIC (1979) + TOO MANY MAGICIANS (1966) + LORD DARCY INVESTIGATES (1981.) The middle novel came out in hardcover in 1967, and was reprinted (in hardover) by Gregg Press in 1978. For the 2 collections - this is their first hardcover appearance. SFBC did a reprint with the same contents and different cover in 1999. In 2002, Baen Books came out with an expanded version (with the same title) in trade paperback, reprinted in paperback in 2004. Those revised versions include 2 stories which came out after the 2 collections. But if you want these books in Hardcover - you want this edition or the 1999 reprint. As a fan of the series, my only quibble is with the Walter Velez cover, which I consider uninspired compared to some really great covers that John Schoenherr did for magazine appearances in the Sixties (with interior illustrations that were even better.)

Murder and Magic (1979) - a collection of "Lord D'Arcy" stories by Randall Garrett.

The Eyes Have It
A Case of Identity
The Muddle of the Woad
A Stretch of the Imagination

The first 3 novelets are from Analog 1964-65, taking place earlier in the series than the only novel (Too Many Magicians - which was serialized in Analog in 1966.) The final story is from a 1973 anthology: Of Men and Malice.

Lord Darcy Investigates (1981) - the second collection of "Lord D'Arcy" stories by Randall Garrett.

A Matter of Gravity
The Ipswich Phial
The Sixteen Keys
The Napoli Express

These originally appeared from 1974 to 1979, - (2) in Analog; and one each from Fantastic, Isaac Asimov's.

picture 2 of 3   Top

picture 3 of 3   Top