picture 1 of 2

picture 2 of 2   Top

Dick, Philip K.
1992 abridgement of 1987 book
cvr art:
cvr price:
Citadel Press
Trade paperback
Kevin Kelly

An American trade-paperback edition of The Eye of the Sibyl (which is a re-titled variant of The Collected Stories of Philip K. Dick, Volume 5: THE LITTLE BLACK BOX.) In 1987, there was a 5-volume set of hardcovers that collected the complete short fiction of Philip K. Dick - from American publisher Underwood-Miller. When the American trade-paperbacks came out, there were often title-changes of the volumes, and/or story-substitutions or re-ordering to emphasize connection of a featured story to a recent movie based on it. This volume has changes from the original Volume 5, with stories in slightly different order and one omission: "A Game of Unchance" is shifted from 3rd position to 8th (taking the place of "We Can Remember It For You Wholesale") - omitted since that was moved to Volume 2 of the American trade pbs to take advantage of publicity for TOTAL RECALL (based on that story.)

(Introduction by Thomas M. Disch)
The Little Black Box
The War With the Fnools
Precious Artifact
Retreat Syndrome
A Terran Odyssey
Your Appointment Will Be Yesterday
Holy Quarrel
A Game of Unchance
Not by its Cover
Return Match
Faith of Our Fathers
The Story to End All Stories for Harlan Ellison's Anthology "Dangerous Visions"
The Electric Ant
Cadbury, the Beaver Who Lacked
A Little Something for Us Tempunauts
The Pre-Persons
The Eye of the Sibyl
The Day Mr. Computer Fell out of its Tree
The Exit Door Leads In
Chains of Air, Web of Aether
Strange Memories of Death
I Hope I Shall Arrive Soon - (Original title ="Frozen Journey")
Rautavaara's Case
The Alien Mind
[Notes by Philip K. Dick (taken from previous appearances of the stories)].

This volume collects stories that originally appeared from 1964 to 1984 (sequence relects when they were written - not when they were published), from Worlds of Tomorrow (3), Galaxy (3), Amazing, Magazine of F&SF (2), Famous SF, Niekas, Rolling Stone College Papers, Interzone, Omni, Yuba City High Times, Dangerous Visions, Final Stage, and Stellar 5.

Most were previously collected in earlier collections by P.K. Dick - having the highest overlap with The Golden Man and I Hope I Shall Arrive Soon (7 stories each.) 4 stories were original to the 1987 Collected Stories of Philip K. Dick, Volume 5, including the title story for this volume.